top of page

5 Verses to hold on to when you are loosing hope




Not yet.” Hearing these two words for what may have been the 3rd or more time must have been frustrating for her. She took a deep sigh as she looked out of the window of the moving car, but she decided to try again. “Mommy, can I have your phone?”


My youngest daughter is extremely persistent and she does not give up when it comes to asking for what she wants. But the “Not yet” seemed to dampen her excitement. Many times, we are like that with the Lord. At first we are steadfast and unmoveable, but as time progress and we still don’t see changes, our countenance begins to shift.


We pray for God to move in a particular area in a particular area of our lives and it seems as if His answer is “not yet” or “no” because nothing appears to change. Sometimes when we get told no or not yet consistently, we naturally start to grow weary. We start to doubt the promises of God in that area of our life and we start to question what His plans are for us. We often lose hope when we grow tired of waiting. But waiting and hope are enmeshed in each other and they require us to trust in the Lord and to trust in His word.


One meaning of one of the Hebrew words for hope means “to stay, to trust, to wait, to be pained.” This meaning of hope implies that the process of hope is not meant to tear us down or to weaken our faith. Instead, it is intended to keep us “stayed” on the Lord; it is intended to plant our feet in the Lord even deeper as we stay with Him. Additionally, one of the Greek words for hope means “to anticipate [usually with pleasure] ; joyful and confident expectation.” This definition speaks volumes about our posture while we wait.


We are to wait with confidence that the Lord will come through and fight for us. We are to wait, expecting the Lord to move on our behalf and grant us His very best for us. Even when we don’t understand the turn that things see to take, we stand firm in hope because we know that the Lord is on our side. Even when the situation gets worse before it gets better, we wait with pleasure because we know that the Lord is working all things out on our behalf. Even when we encounter more obstacles than we know how to handle, we anticipate the deliverance of the Lord.


Psalm 3:2-6 Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.” But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. I call out to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain. I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me. I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.


Psalm 147:11 The Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.


Nehemiah 8:10 Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.


Isaiah 43:2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.


Proverbs 18:10 The name of the LORD is a fortified tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.


Romans 5:5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.


Lord, help me to remember to stay with you during the seasons where my hope is is shaky. Help me to keep my heart and mind stayed on you. Help me to wait for you eagerly and with great expectations of the great things You’ve already promised to do.



 


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


THE WOMAN

BEHIND THE BLOG

Each and every day you and I get to CHOOSE.

 

The choices we make decide whether or not we will embrace our potential, explore our possibilities, or live fully in our purpose.


We get this one life to live and I’m sure that you, like me, want to live it well.

 

And a little encouragement helps.

You are more than your doubts and insecurities, your mistakes, your pain, your fear, your anxiety or depression. You are a warrior, more than a conqueror, blessed, chosen, redeemed and forgiven.

 

I don't know about you but I am tired of feeling beaten and bruised by lies and the world telling me who I'm not and who I'm supposed to be. It's time to dust yourself and remember not only who you are, but whose you are.

 

Grab your sword, remember how to swing it, and let's take back some ground.

It's long overdue.

I write, speak, and share my life in hopes that it might encourage you, help you grow, and inspire you to make choices today that will build the tomorrow of your dreams.

 

If you need a friend for the journey who will keep it real, make it plain, and cheer you on to choose well…

I’m your girl.

SUBSCRIBE

Stay up to date with Flore's latest blog posts, announcements, performances & events, and encouragement!

WORD OF THE DAY

FACEBOOK

BIBLE STUDY

bottom of page