top of page

10 Comforting Psalms: Psalms to Comfort the Grieving, Overwhelmed, & Hurting


I love the Psalms. I love the Psalms because they are full of people crying out to God from all kinds of circumstances. I think many people fail to realize that the vast majority of Psalms came pouring out of someone in pain and turmoil. Most of them are laments. They are people of God crying out to Him in the midst of their trials and heartaches.


The Psalms are beautiful because though they are sung by distressed people, they remind us that there is power in praise and there is comfort, even in the midst of pain, when we remember who our God is.


Today I am sharing 10 of my favorite Psalms to go to when I need to feel comforted.


After the loss of my husband, these Psalms truly came through for me. I would read them over and over again in my quiet time. I would read them to the girls at bed time. There were times where I would seat silently in his presence with my favorite worship music on (no sad Songs preferably uplifting and encouraging songs) and just lament and pour my heart out to God. I tried to hide so the girls wouldn’t hear me but most time that doesn’t work. Of course I cried and trust me it’s okay to cry and let it out. The Lord hears the prayers of the righteous . (Proverbs 15:29) Cry!! Let it out if you need to but don’t stay there. Pick yourself back up! There, I found peace, Joy, comfort and strengths to make through and be strong for my girls. Each day was a work in progress but day by day, God healed my broken heart and until I my joy and strengths fully revived. Whatever you are facing, trust Him, He knows what he is doing. He’s got you. Whether you are facing a giant, a huge mountain, in need of a super natural healing or mourning over the loss of loved one, It is my hope that these Psalms would help you find comfort, peace, healing and complete restoration. Take heart, God healed my brokenhearted so He will do it for you. He is for you. He is with you and He will meet you where you are right now.


I put together this list for you. At the very least jot down these comforting Palms in your Bible.


So whether you are mourning, or just stressed and overwhelmed, I pray these Psalms bring you great peace & I pray the God of peace would surround you with His presence as you look into His Word. I pray you find comfort for your soul.

Psalm 9

But the Lord sits enthroned forever; he has established his throne for justice, and he judges the world with righteousness; he judges the people with uprightness. The Lord is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you. Psalm 9:7-10

Psalm 16

I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalm 16:8-9&11

Psalm 23

He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:2-3

Psalm 34

When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:17-18

Psalm 40

I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. Psalm 40:1-2

Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea. Psalm 46:1-2

Psalm 61

Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Psalm 61:1-2

Psalm 77

I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your wonders of old. I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds. Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God? You are the God who works wonders; you have made known your might among the people. Psalm 77:11-14

Psalm 90

I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust. “For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness is a shield and buckler. You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness, nor the destruction that wastes at noonday. Psalm 90:2-6

Psalm 139

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in depths, you are there! Psalm 139:7-8

I hope these comforting Psalms show you that it is okay to be honest and open with God about the storm raging in your soul. He promises to be close to the hurting. He tells us our pain hurts Him too. He sees the storm raging and luckily He’s the only one I know that winds and waves obey.


Don’t let your circumstances and trials pull you from God. Instead press in to Him when life is difficult. He is our comforter.


I hope these Psalms brought you comfort. I love putting these posts together for you guys & I would love to hear from you if they are helping you. Also I would love it if you would share this post with your friends & followers. I want the world to know we have an awesome source of comfort available!


In His Grip,

Flore

Comments


THE WOMAN

BEHIND THE BLOG

Each and every day you and I get to CHOOSE.

 

The choices we make decide whether or not we will embrace our potential, explore our possibilities, or live fully in our purpose.


We get this one life to live and I’m sure that you, like me, want to live it well.

 

And a little encouragement helps.

You are more than your doubts and insecurities, your mistakes, your pain, your fear, your anxiety or depression. You are a warrior, more than a conqueror, blessed, chosen, redeemed and forgiven.

 

I don't know about you but I am tired of feeling beaten and bruised by lies and the world telling me who I'm not and who I'm supposed to be. It's time to dust yourself and remember not only who you are, but whose you are.

 

Grab your sword, remember how to swing it, and let's take back some ground.

It's long overdue.

I write, speak, and share my life in hopes that it might encourage you, help you grow, and inspire you to make choices today that will build the tomorrow of your dreams.

 

If you need a friend for the journey who will keep it real, make it plain, and cheer you on to choose well…

I’m your girl.

SUBSCRIBE

Stay up to date with Flore's latest blog posts, announcements, performances & events, and encouragement!

WORD OF THE DAY

FACEBOOK

BIBLE STUDY

bottom of page